Governors 2018-01-04T12:55:50+00:00

The Governing Body oversees the work of the School and ensures that the School provides a good quality education for its pupils.  The Governors work in partnership with the Headteacher and other staff and are involved in such matters as:

  • Setting the School’s aims and policies;
  • Improving standards of teaching and achievement;
  • Setting the School’s budget plan and monitoring expenditure;
  • Interviewing and appointing staff;
  • Acting as a link between the Local Authority and the School;
  • Drawing up an action plan after an inspection and monitoring the success of the plan.

The Governing Body consists of one Local Authority Governor, two Parent Governors, one Staff Governor, the Head Teacher and eleven co-opted Governors who are elected for a four year term of office.  The Governing Body meets twice a term as does the ancillary committees: Resources Committee (Formerly Finance & Staffing and Premises, Pupil Welfare and Curriculum Committee. The Governors regularly visit the School and observe the work that is being carried out by the staff.



Chair of Governors – Co-Opted Governor

Daun Tattersall

Profile – Daun has over 15 years’ experience in Operational management in Learning Disabilities and Autism (adults and children) and held senior management positions in national organisations as a Regional Director. She has managed large teams of managers and developed new teams and services, as well as turning around failing services.  Daun has previously been the Designated Safeguarding Lead for Children, and is a Safeguarding adults and Children’s trainer.
Daun currently runs and co-owns a health and social care training and consultancy organisation, training social care staff in Safeguarding, Mental Health, Professional Boundaries, besides running a busy consultancy business which supports organisations grow and develop their business, and also complete audits and inspections


Vice Chair – Local Authority Governor

Rebecca Knox


Cheryl Baker

(Co-Opted Governor)

Joanne Calvert

(Parent Governor)

Heather Giles

(Co-Opted Governor)

Susan Gurney-Legg
(Co-Opted Governor)

Natalie Rashleigh
(Staff Governor)

Jackie Shanks

(Headteacher, ex-officio Governor)

Mat Follas
(Co-Opted Governor)

David Witham

(Co-Opted Governor)

Mary Hall
(Co-Opted Governor)

Clive Chamberlain

(Co-Opted Governor)

Clerk to the Governors
Mrs Vicky Reed

Awaiting Photo
Gillian Acton
(Co-Opted Governor)

Awaiting Photo
Steve Page
(Parent Governor)

Awaiting Photo
Matthew Piles 
(Co-Opted Governor)

If you are interested in becoming a Co-Opted Governor, please send an email to

Minutes of Governors’ Meetings are available on request.